Driver's License

Getting Your Driver’s License Back

Most of us need motor vehicles for most of our everyday activities, ranging from getting our children to school, getting to work, and running regular errands such as getting groceries. Although our mobility has been somewhat limited by the recent global health crisis, we still require transportation. Roads are not without danger, however, and sadly many people are injured or lose their lives every year in Minnesota in road accidents. As a result, the Minnesota legislature has imposed particular penalties in an effort to reduce the number of reckless or even intoxicated drivers. Having your license suspended or revoked are both potential penalties in Minnesota, and for most people, having no driver’s license is a complicated consequence which could interfere with your ability to make money or continue your children’s education. If your license has been revoked or suspended, you may be hoping to have your license reinstated.

First, you should understand that like with other criminal penalties, you have the right to appeal revocation of your driver’s license. Keep in mind, however, that you are working with strict time limits. You have only thirty days to file your petition and to serve the appropriate government officials. If you miss this deadline, there is no grace period. Make sure that you work quickly if you want to appeal the revocation of your license. In addition, unlike other states, Minnesota does not have restrictions on how long a court may order your license to be suspended or revoked.

Next, if you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you may be eligible to get a limited license, even though your driver’s license may be revoked for up to a year. With a limited license, you will be allowed to drive, but only to specific places, such as to and from your job or to and from treatment for chemical dependency. There are waiting periods for getting a limited license. You typically must wait fifteen days after the expiration of your temporary license, which makes it about twenty-two days after you are arrested for DUI. You may also be able to apply for the ignition interlock program. This program means that you will have a device attached to your vehicle to measure your blood alcohol concentration while driving. The person blows into the device and if there is alcohol detected, the vehicle will not start.

To fully reinstate your driver’s license after your term of suspension or revocation is complete, you will need to take particular steps. First, you will have to pay the reinstatement fee, which is $680 plus an application fee of $18.50. Remember that these fees will periodically increase, so make sure you double check the amount you need to pay. You will also be required to pass a written test. This test will have DUI related questions. There could also be some other court-ordered requirements before you are allowed to fully reinstate your license, so you will need to review the judgment of your conviction to determine if you have other requirements, such as alcohol treatment.

We have extensive experience helping our clients get their licenses reinstated. Call us today at 651-413-9568 to talk about your future and your case.

Categories